Meet The Mutual Bank's Executive Leadership Team

Mark Williams - Chief Executive Officer

Mark is the CEO of The Mutual Bank, joining the organisation in June 2023.
Mark has a Bachelor of Commerce, is a Chartered Accountant, is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a Fellow of The Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Following an initial career in Audit with global professional services firm PwC, Mark has built a reputation as a highly trusted executive within the customer-owned banking sector, working for two of the largest mutual banks in Australia over the last 17 years. Throughout this time, Mark held a variety of Executive roles within these organisations, including Chief Financial Officer, Chief Operations Officer, Acting CEO and Chief Technology Officer.

Mark lives in Lake Macquarie and has extensive family ties in the Maitland and Hunter Valley area.

David Vincent – Chief Financial Officer and Acting Chief Risk Officer

David was appointed to the role of Chief Financial Officer of The Mutual Bank in January 2024, responsible for the Finance and Treasury portfolios.

David has a Bachelor of Commerce and is a Chartered Accountant. Prior to joining The Mutual Bank, David spent 14 years in a range of Finance roles at one of the largest mutual banks in Australia, having most recently held the position of Head of Finance.

He has a wide range of experience specific to mutual banking, including financial reporting, regulatory reporting, prudential compliance, budget preparation and management reporting.

Ken Archer – Chief Credit Officer

Ken was appointed to the role of Chief Credit Officer of The Mutual Bank in February 2020, having previously held the roles of Commercial Lending Manager and Senior Manager Lending Services.

He is responsible for a portfolio that includes Lending, Lending Services, Personal Banking, Business Banking and Business Development.

Ken is a career Banker, joining The Mutual Bank in November 2009 after a 30-plus year career with NAB, working throughout the ACT and NSW.

During his career Ken has gained extensive experience in all aspects of finance and relationship banking, specialising in Business and Personal Lending.

Ken and his family have been residents of the Hunter since 1987 and enjoy deep family and business ties to the area.

Felicity Laczina – Chief Operations Officer

Felicity, who joined The Mutual Bank in July 2022 as Chief of Corporate Services, has spent more than 15 years of her career in mutual banking including six years at an executive level. Felicity’s role was reshaped in April 2024 as the Chief Operations Officer.

Her portfolio of responsibility at The Mutual Bank includes Credit and Lending Operations, People and Culture, Strategic Programs and Procurement, Facilities and Corporate Support.

Felicity has more than 20 years’ experience in people and culture management roles across Health, Government and Manufacturing, with a significant portion of her career working in Financial Services.

Felicity is also the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Mai-Wel Group, a Hunter Region organisation with more than 60 years of success in creating and delivering vibrant, innovative services for people with disability and job seekers across the Hunter Valley.


Matthew Dunnill – Chief Member Officer

Matthew joined The Mutual Bank as the Chief Member Officer in July 2022.

He is responsible for our Member Service Teams which include our Branch Network, Contact Centre, Lending Origination, Product, and Marketing and Communications teams.

Matthew has more than 25 years of experience in finance and banking with a focus on Retail Banking.  He has previously held positions as the Head of Products and Marketing, Head of Digital and Strategy and Head of Retail and Third-Party Distribution at Queensland Country Bank and was the Regional Manager at Auswide Bank. He has also worked at Westpac, St George and Advance Bank. 

Matthew holds a Master of Business Administration from the Australian Institute of Business. 

Josh Hessel – Chief Digital and Technology Officer

Josh joined The Mutual bank in July 2023 as our Chief Digital and Technology Officer.

A strong technology leader, Josh has extensive experience in all facets of digital and technology, spanning more than 20 years in banking, education and telecommunications.
As Chief Digital and Technology Officer Josh has the responsibility for the overall leadership, management and performance of The Mutual Bank’s Digital, Technology and Payments teams. As part of the Executive Leadership Team, Josh will drive our digital transformation so we may continue to serve our Members with personalised service and digital solutions.

Erin Howells – Head of Internal Audit

Erin joined The Mutual Bank in May 2023 as the Head of Internal Audit.

Having spent most of her career in customer-owned banking, Erin has over 16 years’ experience in the financial services sector and has held positions in front-line member service and internal audit. Erin has experience in uplifting and maturing Internal Audit functions and improving standards of audit operations.

Erin is a Certified Internal Auditor and Councillor for the NSW Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors Australia.


Merran Magill - Chief Governance Officer & Company Secretary​

Merran joined The Mutual Bank in January 2022 as our Corporate Governance Manager. She was appointed Company Secretary in March 2022. 

An experienced Company Secretary and non-executive director, Merran has more than 15 years' experience in private and in-house legal practice. 

Merran holds a Bachelor of Business (QUT), Bachelor of Laws (UNSW) and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance (Governance Institute of Australia).