There’s been a changing of the guard at The Mutual Bank with our long-standing Chair Trevor Robinson retiring and the Board electing current director Steve Meyn as its 11th Chair.

Mr Robinson, who joined the Board of The Mutual Bank in 2010 and was elected Chair in 2014, said he was proud to have led The Mutual Bank through a period of unprecedented growth.

“It has been a privilege to have served as both a Director and Chair of a member-first organisation with such deep roots and commitment to the community as The Mutual Bank,” he said.

“The Mutual Bank team has achieved so much in recent years, including an internal securitisation program, trading and legal name changes, a landmark new head office in the heart of East Maitland and a strategic plan to continue to put our members first, delivering modern banking with traditional service.”

Mr Meyn praised Mr Robinson for his strong leadership during a remarkable period of growth for The Mutual Bank, which now has $1billion in assets.

“Trevor has shown incredible leadership of The Mutual Bank during a period of industry uncertainty following the global financial crisis and the pandemic,” said Mr Meyn.

“He spearheaded the progression of Maitland Mutual Building Society becoming The Mutual Bank, as well as the establishment of the Hunter Trust which means The Mutual Bank can access additional liquidity directly from the Reserve Bank of Australia, where needed.

“I am proud to lead The Mutual Bank into its next exciting chapter as a vital and integral part of the Hunter economic landscape.”

Born and bred in Maitland where he still lives, Mr Meyn brings a wealth of knowledge to the role with more than 33 years’ experience as an accountant and business adviser, developing specific expertise in the field of, business, governance, IT, and strategic planning.

He is currently the Chair of PKF Australia, one of Australia’s leading business advisory, accounting, and assurance providers.

The Mutual Bank’s CEO Geoff Seccombe said The Mutual Bank team wished Mr Robinson all the best and thanked him for his unwavering commitment and dedicated service during such a memorable chapter for The Mutual Bank.

Mr Meyn is supported by Board members Melinda Smith, Deb Mirisch, Sharon Howes, and David Jay.